Ancient Coinage of Macedonia, Kings

Browse the Macedonian Kings Index page.

Argead dynasty

588-568 BC Aeropos I
568-540 BC Alketas
540-498 BC Amyntas I
498-454 BC Alexander I
454-413 BC Perdikkas II
413-399 BC Archelaus
399-396 BC Orestis
396-393 BC Aeropos II
393 BC Pausanias
393 BC Amyntas II the Lioras
392-370 BC Amyntas III
370-368 BC Alexander II
368-365 BC Ptolemeos Alorites
365-359 BC Perdikkas III
359-336 BC Philip II
336-323 BC Alexander III
323-321 BC Philip III Arrhidaios
321-319 BC Antipatros, Regent of Alexander IV
Alexander IV, son of Alexander III and Roxani, murdered in 310 BC
319-297 BC Kassander, Son of Antipatros
319-310 BC Antigonos I Monophthalmos
294-288 BCDemetrios I Poliorcetes, Son of Antigonos
288-277 BC

Interregnum, following Demetrios' overthrow

Anonymous coins of the Interregnum (incl. AE Shield/helmet types)
Philip IV
Alexander V
288-285 BC Pyrrhos, king of Epeiros & Macedonia
285-281 BC Lysimachos, king of Thrace & Macedonia
281-279 BC Ptolemeos Keravnos
279 BC Meleager
279 BC Antipatros Etesias
279-277 BC Sosthenis

Antigonid dynasty

277-239 BC Antigonos II Gonatas
239-229 BC Demetrios II
229-222 BCAntigonos III Doson
221-179 BC Philip V
~185-145 BC Anonymous without king's name (inc. shield/helmet types)
179-168 BCPerseus, defeated by the Romans in 168 BC
Entry for Macedonia, Kings on the Digital Historia Numorum

Coins Main PageGreek Coins by City or RulerSearch All Entries

Click here for a list of Reference Abbreviations.